Manitoba jack-pine poles and the establishment of a transformer factory and the development of miscellaneous pole-line hardware manufactures in the Province, enabled the Commission, in 1948, to return to the original plan of electrification of 5,000 farms annually; on completion of the 1950 construction, 22,000 farms will be receiving electric service.

In conjunction with farm electrification, a program, by which electric service is extended to every community located within the practical service area of the Province and having a population of at least 20, is nearing completion. On this basis, 197 towns, villages and hamlets, have received electric service since the program was recommenced after the War. On completion of the 1950 construction program, 391 communities will be supplied by the Manitoba Power Commission.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S. 1940, c. 33), which authorized the Commission to manufacture, sell and supply electric energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct oil and steam plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power and to enter into contracts for the supply of electric energy.

During the years 1929 to 1945, the Commission purchased certain generating plants, and constructed and purchased transmission lines and also distribution systems in towns and villages. These were improved, enlarged or supplemented. Particulars of these acquisitions and constructions are given in the 1941 Year Book and subsequent editions.

On Jan. 1, 1947, Dominion Electric Power, Limited, which for a time had been operated as a wholly owned subsidiary, was completely absorbed by the Commission, and the properties of Canadian Utilities, Limited, in Saskatchewan, with the exception of its Lloydminster plant, were added to the Commission's system.

The Commission at the end of 1948, owned and operated 4,190 miles of transmission line and distribution systems in 375 cities, towns and villages served by the system.

On Feb. 1, 1949, under the terms of the Crown Corporations Act, 1947 (c. 13), Saskatchewan Power Corporation took over the assets and assumed the obligations of the Saskatchewan Power Commission. A number of the provisions of the Power Commission Act continued to be applicable to the Corporation, which is a body corporate, consisting of members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. On Apr. 8, 1950, the Power Corporation Act, 1950, was passed (c. 10), continuing Saskatchewan Power Corporation in existence, and the Power Commission Act was repealed. The main functions of the Corporation are the generation, transmission, distribution, sale and supply of electrical energy and steam; the production or purchase, and the transmission, distribution, sale and supply of natural or manufactured gas.

On the passing of the Power Corporation Act, 1950, and the repeal of the former Power Commission Act, a new Power Commission Act, 1950, was passed (c. 9) under which certain powers of control and regulation over electrical utilities, as well as gas utilities, were vested in the Saskatchewan Power Commission, which consists of one or more persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council for the purposes of the Act.

At the end of 1949, the Corporation owned and operated 4,592 miles of transmission line, having built 402 miles during the year, and also owned and operated distribution systems in 422 cities, towns, villages and hamlets, 47 of these systems